Indiana ARES

Indiana Section ARES®

 What is ARES®?

The Amateur Radio Emergency Service® (ARES) consists of licensed amateurs who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and equipment, with their local ARES leadership, for communications duty in the public service when disaster strikes. 

ARES® Volunteer Requirements

Every licensed amateur, regardless of membership in ARRL or any other local or national organization is eligible to apply for membership in ARES.  Training may be required or desired to participate fully in ARES.  Please inquire at the local level for specific information.  Because ARES is an Amateur Radio program, only licensed radio amateurs are eligible for membership. The possession of emergency-powered equipment is desirable, but is not a requirement for membership.

How to get involved in ARES®?

Complete the ARES® Registration form by clicking here.


Intereseted in being an ARES® leader? Find the volunteer descriptions for EC, DEC and OES at the ARRL webpage, just follow the links below!

ARRL Indiana Section Emergency Coordinator

ARES® EC Reports are Due by the 3rd of the month, DEC and OES Reports are Due by the 5th of the Month. Please File Your Report by Selecting the Link Below.

 Indiana Section ARES® Monthly Report Form


Indiana Section ARES® Nets

The Indiana Section ARES® HF net is held on 3.900 MHz every Sunday at 5:00 PM EST. The Net Scrit and Log can be found via the Links Below.

Net Manager: Joseph Lawrence K9RFZ This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The Indiana ARES® HF Digital Net is held every Wednesday at 8:30 PM Eastern Time except the second Wednesday of the month on or about 3.583 MHz using Olivia 8/500.

Net Manager: Matthew Becdol, W9SOX



Indiana Section ARES® Leaders


Name Callsign Title Jurisdiction District
Jim Moehring
 KB9WWM SEC Indiana
Open ASEC Indiana
Open ASEC Indiana 
Open DEC District 1 1
Lyle Long N1LL DEC District 2 2
Jim Moehring KB9WWM DEC District 3 3
Stephen Parker WR9A DEC District 4 4
 Open DEC District 5 5
Marv Gilliland KC9RVL DEC District 6 5

Ray Andrews

Gary Adams





District 7

District 7



Larry Jones WB9FHP  DEC District 8 8
Open DEC District 9 9
Open DEC  District 10  10 
EC Adams County 3
Jim Moehring KB9WWM EC Allen County 3
Jeff Jones K9JAJ EC Bartholomew County 8
EC Benton County 4
EC Blackford County 6
Mike Wamsley KC9UWR EC Boone County 5
Scott Nelson W9DBA EC Brown County 8
EC Carroll County 4
Dan McDonald KV9N EC Cass County 4
Wes Temple
KB9OIC EC Clark County 9
Gary Adams
W9EEU EC Clay County 7
EC Clinton County 4
EC Crawford County 10
Bruce Stewart K1JNX EC Daviess County 10
Chris Bible  KC9ZCK EC De Kalb County 3
Paul Goslin K9PLG EC Dearborn County 9
Mike McCoy KC9ELU EC Decauter County 9
Gary Bolderson NQ8E EC Delaware County 6
EC Dubois County 10
  EC Elkhart County 2
EC Fayette County 6
EC Floyd County 9
EC Fountain County 4
    EC Franklin County 9
EC Fulton County 2
    EC Gibson County 10
Ed Brown Jr N9GTL EC Grant County 6
EC Greene County 7
Michael Alley W9MSK EC Hamilton County 5
Greg Chaney N9MOX EC Hancock County 5
Clark Whitehouse N9CWW EC Harrison County 9
Ron Burke KB9DJA EC Hendricks County 5
Ben Burris
KC9QEW EC Henry County 6
Justin Johnson N9JIN EC Howard County 6
EC Huntington County 3
EC Jackson County 8
Mark Carlo KC9EJL EC Jasper County 1
Adrian Daniels WA9DAN EC Jay County 6
EC Jefferson County 9
Gene Dolgner KC9RLC EC Jennings County 9
Robert LaGrange N9SIU EC Johnson County 5
EC Knox County 10
Mark Gregory AB9ZA EC Kosciusko County 2
EC LaGrange County 3
EC Lake County 1
Danny Foster KC9GFO EC LaPorte County 1
EC Lawrence County 8
Fredrick Sherman
W9GNR EC Madison County 6
Matthew Bechdol W9SOX EC Marion County 5
Lenny Berkey KC9QAK EC Marshall County 2
EC Martin County 10
Bill McAlpin WD9GIU EC Miami County 3
Tom Myers K9TEM EC Monroe County 8
Anthony Hedge
N9ZTB EC Montgomery County 4
Brian Elliott N9JPX EC Morgan County 5
Chad Wilson
 W1MKZ EC Newton County 1
EC Noble County 3
EC Ohio County 9
Larry Jones WB9FHP EC Orange County 8
James Baughn K9EOH EC Owen County 7
Sutton Doty AD0TY EC Parke County 7
EC Perry County 10
EC Pike County 10
EC Porter County 1
EC Posey County 10
EC Pulaski County 2
George Edenfield KB9RZK EC Putnam County 7
David Epley N9CZV EC Randolph County 6
EC Ripley County 9
EC Rush County 6
EC Saint Joseph County 2
Steve Jewell WR9G EC Scott County 9
EC Shelby County 5
Peter Crasher W9DRB EC Spencer County 10
David Metz III KC8OBH EC Starke County 2
Mark Tritch KC9GUY EC Steuben County 3
EC Sullivan County 7
EC Switzerland County 9
Stephan Parker
WR9G EC Tippecanoe County 4
David Copp W9DAC EC Tipton County 6
EC Union County 6
John Marley WB9EFH EC Vanderburgh County 10
Chuck Procarione W9COD EC Vermillion County 7
Ken Hauptli W9VKD EC Vigo County 7
EC Wabash County 3
EC Warren County 4
Rick Williams KT9B EC Warrick County 10
EC Washington County 8
James M Laboyteaux
KB9ML EC Wayne County 6
Rick Velasquez AB9HP EC Wells County 3
EC White County 4
Edward Scott  K9EJS EC Whitley County 3
Jay Farlow W9LW OES Allen County 3
Jerry Fray N9TU OES Fayette Couty 6
Norm Dingle  W9IFW OES Hancock County 5
David McKim W9WXN OES Harrison County 9
Lyle Long  N1LL OES Kosciusko County 2
Jeff Skinner  NN7C OES Marion County 5
OES Monroe County 8
Raymond Dalgliesh KC9IHZ OES Saint Joseph County 2
Mark Thienes KC9TYA OES Vanderburgh County  10
Ray Andrews K9DUR OES Vigo County 7
Don Evilsizor KA9QWC OES Whitely County 3



 Indiana Section Districts

State Districts






Upcoming Events

Band Conditions